Pregnancy might not be easy. There are different questions for pregnant women to ask in order for the baby to develop well. However, sometimes it will be difficult not to know what you can and cannot eat while pregnant. During the holidays and eating out moments, we might want to eat foie gras. However, can we eat foie gras while we are pregnant? First of all, we will explain in which situations you can eat foie gras and then the problems of eating certain types of foie gras.

can-i-eat-Foie gras-pregnant

Under what conditions can we eat halal foie gras when pregnant?

Eating foie gras will be a pleasure for a large number of pregnant women. But while pregnant it will not be advised by gynaecologists. However, it seems that we will still be able to eat them? So YES you can eat it but in some cases. Cooked foie gras is allowed while pregnant, among other things in a stuffing cooked in the oven and also in a pan-fried foie gras.

Because of this ,, to be as clear as possible and to know if you can eat halal foie gras when pregnant, we will list the foies gras allowed and the foies gras not advised while pregnant.

Authorized foie gras:

  • Foie gras cooked in jars, canned or vacuum-packed
  • Pre-packaged foie gras
  • Sterilized liver
  • Pan-fried foie gras
  • Stuffing of cooked foie gras
  • Foie gras sauce: heat the sauce properly and use canned or jarred liver and as with the recommendations given for dairy products, use milk and pasteurized cream
  • Frozen foie gras: you can eat it simply because the foie gras will have undergone a temperature below 20°C and as a result the Listeria bacteria is killed

Why would we opt for canned foie gras? It is generally sterilized for better preservation. The sterilization process will destroy the possible presence of the Listeria bacteria.

Banned foie gras:

  • Homemade foie gras (terrine, tea towel)
  • Foie gras in the caterer or restaurant
  • Semi-cooked foie gras
  • Foam of foie gras

Women that are pregnant most often ask themselves the question for semi-cooked foie gras. We will explain why it seems not recommended for pregnant women. Semi-cooked foie gras is not advised because it happens to be cooked at low temperature. This way the cooking is not strong enough to remove the listeria . Semi-cooked foie gras is in the category of fresh products with a short shelf life, so do not take this type of foie gras when you are pregnant.

What can be the problem with eating halal foie gras pregnant?

The problem with eating halal foie gras when you are pregnant will be listeriosis. Listeriosis will be a pathology caused by a bacteria, Listeria, which is present in meat, dairy products, cheese and foie gras. Listeria will be killed by pasteurization or cooking. Therefore we find out better why it is possible to eat cooked foie gras.

The 2nd less common problem will be vitamin A overdose. Eating halal foie gras when pregnant brings a lot of vitamin A. Too much vitamin A is not recommended while pregnant. It is possible to eat it, but it is better to eat it occasionally.

What to do if you have eaten undercooked foie gras?

In that case, don’t be alarmed. The Listeria problem we mentioned above will be quite rare. There is no need to do anything in an emergency. You will need to keep an eye on signs of illness within 2 months after eating undercooked foie gras that may be at risk of Listeriosis for fever and headaches. In this situation, it is advisable to visit a doctor so he can examine you and, if necessary, do a blood test to look for the bacteria. If it is positive, then you will need to take antibiotics.

If you are curious to know if any other food will be allowed or not allowed while pregnant, use our search engine for finding food is allowed for pregnant women .

Conclusion

With all these details, you now understand if you can eat halal foie gras when you are pregnant. In this situation whether you eat foie gras, eat it occasionally.